Please note: You need to have Manager or higher permissions to create resources. Please contact an administrator in your account if you need increased permissions.
Click Resources on the navigation menu.
Click New Resource to open the drop-down menu listing 5 resource types:
• Conference Call Line
• Meeting Room
Please note: Non-human resources can only be booked for specific times, as opposed to durations (e.g., 4h); this is because they can’t manage their own time. See Creating bookings for details on the different booking types.
These common input options are shared among all resources: Name, Time zone, Normal availability, Photo, and Notes.
• Normal availability
This is where you can configure a resource’s “normal” availability, meaning the times that resource is typically available. Default availability (as seen here) is picked up from the Settings in your account (only accessible to Admins), but you can edit the individual availability settings for each resource you add. To remove an existing time block, click the small x at the top right of the appropriate block for the desired day. To add a new time block, click Add Time Block and follow the instructions.
• Photo - A photo/image can be uploaded for resources of all types.
Please note: Once a person has activated their account, only they can update
their own photo.
• Notes - Add information or links related to the resource here.
Because default Normal availability is picked up from Settings, it’s a good idea to configure your account’s preferred default availability in Settings prior to adding resources.
Creating a person resource
Adding a new person offers you several additional input options in addition to those shared with non-human resources:
- Invite this person to join your account - If you want someone to have their own Resource Guru login, you’ll need to invite them into your account by ticking this option. You will also need to add a valid email address. You can always invite or re-invite an existing person at a later date by clicking Invite or Re-send invitation after the person has been added.
- Permissions - If you are inviting a resource into your account, you can configure their permissions here; see more on this below.
- Email - Adding an email address is optional if you’re not inviting the person into your account.
- Bookable - Unticking this means the resource can't be booked and will not appear in the Schedule or Reports. This is useful for anyone who makes bookings but is never booked themselves.
- Custom Fields - This is where you’ll see any custom fields you’ve created, along with Job Title (which is an integrated custom field). You can leave this field blank or remove it from the form entirely (this is done in the custom fields settings).
Expand this section for the following options:
- Color - Assign a color to your resource. This works in conjunction with the Color by Booker option in the Schedule so you can easily see bookings that have been made by specific resources.
- Phone - A phone number can be added if required.
Please note: The permissions section will only appear if you’re inviting a person into your account.
Resource Guru has 3 preset permission levels for those invited to join the account: Basic User, Manager, and Administrator. To give you greater flexibility and control, you can completely customize the permissions to suit your needs.
To see the permissions in each preset, just click Show permissions and toggle between the options. To customize, simply drag the sliders to the permissions you want for that person.
- No Access means that the person can’t see that section on their navigation bar and won’t be able to access it. But, anyone invited into your account still has access to their own Dashboard where they will see their own bookings and time off. However, they will not be able add or edit items where No Access is configured.
- View means they will be able to view the corresponding section but can’t make any edits. View permissions for time off allow users to add time off via their Dashboards. To prevent this, you can set it to No Access instead.
- Manage Own means the person can create and edit their own bookings, time off, resources, projects, or clients, but they can’t make changes to those created by others. There is one exception - if someone has Manage Own permissions in the Resources section, they will also be able to edit their own resource profile, even if it was added by somebody else.
- Manage All means the person can create and edit all bookings, time off, resources, projects, and clients. For security reasons, you should try to limit the resources with Manage All access to only those who truly need it, such as administrators.
Set all sliders to No Access if you want to fully restrict someone to viewing only their own calendar events. They will still see their personal Dashboard and profile settings but won’t be able to see or access any other part of the app.
Administrators can edit Settings (including default availability and custom fields) and have full control over all aspects of an account, with the exception of Billing (only account owners can access the billing section).
Hide people who aren’t bookable
Do you have Project Managers (or other staff) who make bookings but aren’t actually bookable themselves? If so, here’s a handy tip—just untick Bookable on their profile in the Resources section. This will prevent them from appearing in the Schedule and Reports sections. If you’d previously made bookings for this person, those bookings won’t be deleted. So, if you later mark them as Bookable, any existing bookings for them will reappear in the Schedule.