Setting permissions
Michelle Florin avatar
Written by Michelle Florin
Updated over a week ago

Please note: The permissions section will only appear if you’re inviting a person into your account. You will need Administrator permissions in order to edit the permissions of other people.

Resource Guru has 3 preset permission levels for those invited to join the account: Basic User, Manager, and Administrator. To give you greater flexibility and control, you can completely customize the permissions to suit your needs.

To see the permissions in each preset, just click Show permissions and toggle between the options. To customize, simply choose the permissions you want for that person.

  • No Access means that the person can’t see that section on their navigation bar and won’t be able to access it.

  • View / View Everyone means they will be able to view the corresponding section but can’t make any edits.

  • The View Themselves Only option gives users a view of the Schedule where only they are visible. Users with this level of access won’t be able to add any filters or see any other people or resources on the Schedule.

  • Edit Items They Create means the person can create and edit their own bookings, time off, resources, projects, or clients etc, but they can’t make changes to those created by others. There is one exception - if someone has permission to Edit Items They Create in the Resources section, they will also be able to edit their own resource profile, even if it was added by somebody else.

  • Edit All means the person can create and edit all bookings, time off, resources, projects, or clients etc. For security reasons, you should try to limit the resources with Edit All access to only those who truly need it, such as administrators.


Guru tip

In order for someone to delete bookings or move them to the waiting list, their permissions for the Schedule will need to be set to Edit all or Edit Items They Create. The only instance where someone will be able to delete a booking or move it to the waiting list without these permissions, is if they are creating a time off event for themselves.


Depending on the permissions you’ve set, you may see the above note advising you that some data could still be visible in other sections. An example of this would be if you gave someone No Access to the Resources section, but View access for the Schedule. Someone with these settings would not be able to access the Resources section, however they would still see the details of any bookable resources over in the Schedule.

Dashboard permissions

If you don’t want people to see bookings for other people or resources, set the Schedule permissions to View Themselves Only and all other permissions to No Access. Users with this combination of permissions will be able to access their own personal dashboard, and they will only be able to see themselves on the Schedule. These people will not see utilisation rates or time off events for others in the daily schedule email.

To prevent people from adding time off via their Dashboard, simply untick the box shown above.

Administrators

Administrators can edit Settings (including default availability and custom fields) and have full control over all aspects of an account, with the exception of Billing (only account owners can access the billing section).

Please note: If a user’s permissions in the app are set to No Access for Projects, Clients or Resources, they will still have View access for these sections via the API if they have been granted View access or higher for the Schedule.


Learn more

Did this answer your question?