The availability bar is hidden by default to de-clutter the Schedule but you can easily switch it on and off using the toggle button shown above. Your preference will be remembered the next time you login.
When the availability bars are hidden, you can still see how much time is free on any day by hovering over it.
When the availability bars are visible, the amount of free time each resource has is displayed when you hover over that day.
To see more detailed information on the availability for specific dates just click, or click and drag, over the relevant dates on the availability bar. A popover displaying the detailed availability information will appear. You will also see a link to edit the availability and create availability exceptions.
When you add time off, you will notice that it subtracts from any existing availability. For example, if someone is available from 9am to 5pm and you add a personal vacation for the whole day, the availability will be reduced to zero. This is different to bookings which actually occupy availability. This is an important distinction for reporting and utilization purposes. Please note that, if time off/downtime is deleted or moved, the previous availability will be restored.